OK…let me review something here…I have been outta the Navy for 9 years now. For 8 years, 1992 till 2000, I had someone tell me what to do, how to do it, where to do it, etc… It’s the Navy…it’s how it is…you get an order you follow it…end of story. Well…I ain’t in the Navy no more…I don’t get orders, unless they are from my wife…so I don’t follow orders!!! And now…I got the company telling me I have to attend a stupid award ceremony???
Ok…I am not in the Navy…but I work with the Navy…and when the command I work with, gets a command award for their hard work…power to them…good for them. Last year they had a renaming of the command ceremony. It was strongly urged that everyone attend. If you weren’t at a test shot or high priority meeting of some kind, or didn’t have the day off, you were expected to attend. Yeah…well guess what…I didn’t go!!! Why?? 1- I don’t do what is strongly urged…unless it means my job. And attending a renaming ceremony…to me…is not job threatening. 2- I don’t like going to those types of functions!!! Didn’t like it 9 years ago…but did it. I don’t like it now…and I don’t have to!!!
At least so I thought…when I was still here getting work done, people started coming back…hey why weren’t you there…cause I didn’t wanna go!!! It was talked about…but no one ever came to me to discipline!!! Nor did they come over and comment on my lack of team spirit!!! I don’t lack team spirit!!! I lack the obedience to do what is strongly urged!!! I don’t care about those things.
Here’s another example…a few weeks ago, I got an award for my hard work and dedication. They had an immediate office all-hands, (meaning that only the offsite office I work in, those who were here had to go) and of course, it was my award…so I had to be there. But…when I found out what was happening, I went to my superiors beforehand…I said…I don’t want a ceremony…just let me have my award now. I don’t wanna waste anyone’s time. I was told that it would happen, because we all should take the time to recognize one’s hard work, etc… I don’t want the fucking recognition!! Just give me the stupid award, I will hang it up…and be done with it!!! I don’t want the attention!!! Well…needless to say…I lost that argument, and we had it anyway!!
The newest thing…this coming Friday, is an All-Hands for all the community (composed of 4 companies and government employees) to attend the command award ceremony. I don’t wanna go. Originally…I was not even going to be in that day, and would enjoy a function at my son’s school. However, they both were sick last Thursday & Friday, and are almost completely healed now, and so I used personal time then. Now I can’t take this Friday off, cause I need my vacation time for the end of this month, and a few days in July!! So…I was asked yesterday…will I be attending…I said no…my supervisor said ok…why? I said, cause I don’t want to…she said ok…a planned vaca day…and if you come in…just don’t be around when the ceremony goes on. No Duh??!!! No problem!!!!
So…this morning, one of my other supervisors, yes I do have more than one…it’s complicated to explain, came to me, and asked why I wasn’t going…I said originally I was not going to be here…but there is a chance I may be. He said well then you would be going right? I said, you want the truth or a lie? He said truth…so I told him, I don’t wanna go. He goes, well that’s not a good response. So I will put you down as attending. Ummm…I just said I am not going. Well…you need to be there. Why?? Because it’s required, that if you are not in testing, or on a day off, and are present, you will attend. Oh…so if I don’t show, is my company really gonna fire me for not showing team spirit?? Are ya serious?? He goes, that’s not a road you wanna go down. Ok…I admit that…I don’t…I like a secure job…but come on!!!
There are gonna be close to 200 guests, and you’re telling me…that someone would actually notice that I was there or not?? I don’t fucking think so!!! But whatever!!! Fine…that’s how it has to be…then I will play the game…my way…so if you happen to be going to this ceremony…look for me in the back fucking row…standing…since I know there ain’t gonna be any fucking chairs!!! Oh…and then I find out this ceremony could be like 1-2 hours?? WTF???!!! Yeah…early exit to the back!!! If you hear the mission impossible theme playing…it’s for me as I will be escaping that monstrosity!!!
Sorry…you may not agree with me, and think…it’s just a stupid ceremony…and I should just suck it up, and go…well…too fucking bad…we can agree to disagree…end of story!!! I mean let’s be realistic here…call it like it is…if the ceremony was made voluntary…how many of the 200 people would actually show up?? Half…yeah…most likely about half!!! And what…that’s not fucking good enough?? Oh fucking well…too fucking bad!!! Fucking bullshit!!! All it is…just plain fucking bullshit!!! (Boy…that’s a lot of F-Bombs there) Anyway…that’s what I got this time!!!
Have a nice day!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment