Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Iron Chef---Home Style!!!

There is a show on the food network...called Iron Chef. I have never watched it...but some friends of mine & Christy's have. In fact...I think my wife watched it...but I don't!! Well...we decided to do a fun thing with this show...and 5 families decided to get together and have our own version...but home style!!!

The way it works...we all come together at one of the 5 families' home...and bring the kiddies...and we all prepare to have some fun. Whoever hosts the event...one person is the shopper...and they go out...and buy all the ingredients...whatever you wanna buy...but cheap and within reason. That also includes the special "Mystery Ingredient"...this is up to the shopper.

Then...when all the families show up...while the kids are distracted...teams are drawn/drafted and the odd men/women out are the judges!!! Teams of 3 are usually best...this way the kitchen is not TOO crowded!!! LOL So...once teams are formed...strategizing begins...and then the cooking commences. Each team has 3 hours total...to cook 2 appetizers...1 entree...and 1 dessert. The mystery ingredient has to be used at least once!!! Everything is made from scratch...no recipes off a box...all from your creative mind!!! The judges grade each item on 3 specific things: Presentation, Originality, and Taste...all on a scale of 1-10.

So...this past weekend...it was held at my house!! I cooked...Christy was the shopper and one of the judges!!! It was a great time...I gotta say that the two people I was paired with...some of the most creative cooking minds I have ever seen. I felt like little worm on a big hook, or a little pea in a big garden...whatever your cliche is...they were WAY smarter than I am with cooking!!! They were suggesting some of the ingredients we had and how to cook them...and when asking me my opinion...I looked at them like a deer in headlights!!! I know very basic stuff...I know how to grill things...I am NOT in any way, shape, or form a gourmet chef!!! LOL

So out 1st appetizer was some crab meat (mystery ingredient) and other tasty things stuffed in a portabello mushroom...baked in the oven for 20 min on 350 degrees. It was YUMMY...the 2nd appetizer was marinated shrimp (i don't know in what) grilled with bacon wrapped around each one on a skewer...our entree was a marinated steak...I believe teriyaki sauce and some other good stuff helped the taste...grilled...and a side dish for it was pomme frits...which is homemade french fries...and they were really good!!! And our dessert was a crem broule' with chocolate, some strawberry sauce. And HOT DAMN it was ALL so good!!!

Needless to say...it was a close race...and my team won...by 5 points!!! It was a fun time...I recommend it to everyone!!! Its cheap...and fun!!! Can't wait for the next one...and again...let me state again for the record...I suck at the creative portion of this...and Thanks to Geoff & Jessica my teammates for being so totally awesome!!!

Till the next time!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment