Wednesday, September 8, 2010

I don't get it...

OK...Hello everyone...time for a monthly blog that is overdue, since I did NOT do one in August!!! Sorry...it was a busy month!!

Question...did everyone start school today?? Or recently?? I bet you're ALL CELEBRATING now that school is back in town!!! LOL I know I kinda am!! Next Question...do you get involved with your kids in extra-curricular activities?? Do you coach them?? Or did you join the PTA?? Or did you join the Yearbook Committee...or something like that?? Well...I did...I coach Baseball & Soccer. I am on the PTA...and I am on the Yearbook Committee. Yeah...I like to be involved...so sue me!!! LOL

Here is what I don't get...I understand that the "norm" if you will, is that the Dad is the coach...and Mom cheers from the sidelines...and Mom is involved in the PTA, and Mom is on the Yearbook committee. (And let me tell you...I had NO IDEA there was a yearbook committee in the elementary school level!!!) But why is it...if the Dad wants to be different and do those things...he gets the funny looks...or the something has got to be wrong with him looks?? I am not talking about single parents...because God Bless ALL the single parents out there...as I know it must be a struggle to have to do it alone. I am talking about the married couples...and while the "norm" is for Mom to do her thing, and Dad to do his thing...why can't I be different?? Is there a law?? A rule?? Some kind of unwritten prophecy that says...Dad's cannot do what Mom's do in certain things??

Is that it?? Cause I am unaware of this rule...especially since you got Moms coaching sports. So why can't I as a Dad participate in other things?? I am a picture hound...ask anyone who knows me!!! I love to take pics, look at pics, have pics texted to me, emailed to me...whatever...Pictures are worth 1000 words. So...since I love to take pics...would it not make sense to be on the Yearbook Committee?? So...if that's ok...then why do I get these funny looks, strange looks, curious looks, and even some mean looks, or worried looks, about why am I taking pics at the 1st Day of School for the Yearbook?? Can't I do it?? Am I not allowed?? Is there something wrong with me?? I am a big boy...I can handle it...just tell me!!! But don't give me any of the strange, weird, or mean looks and expect me to not notice it!! OK??? It's just down right rude!! I wanna be involved with my kids with coaching, and at school...so let's just leave it all alone...ok??

I had other stuff I wanted to blog about...but it all escapes me at the moment!!! Have a nice day!!!